Skip to content
August 17, 2010 / Sarah Moore

Josie Carter’s Bernal Heights studio

Josie Carter's Shadowboxes

When I visited Josie Carter’s home studio last week (to borrow some of her shadow boxes for my client), I was stunned by the beauty of her place. Set back from the street on charming Bernal Hill, it is accessed by a winding sidewalk through a lush garden–not the typical San Francisco house entry! Upon walking in and seeing the  jewel-toned hues and layers of beautiful objects, I immediately thought of the blog and asked if I could take pictures. I also thought of Tony Duquette, legendary interior and jewelry designer known for his use of unusual color combinations.

I’m always amazed when I meet someone who is so unafraid and skilled when it comes to color. See, months ago, I was having night sweats wondering if the pale green in my client’s powder room was a hair too bright and if the beige in the stairwell would be too jarring. So, when I see something like this, and it works, I’m beyond impressed.

Her method, which is a special form of decoupage that she has developed over the years, requires 13 steps and involves meticulous selection and arrangement of images. No two are alike. And not a surprise, her pieces are equally enchanting as her home: full of life and colorful.

p.s. I’m hoping to have my boring white desk (found on the street :-)) plastered in butterflies and flowers with her incredible talents…

Click here for Josie’s website.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Patrick / Aug 18 2010 8:57 am

    truly gifted relationship with color

  2. denwayz / Aug 19 2010 11:21 am

    Very cool – it may have repercussions with what we do in Portugal. Slide show is very nice addition.

  3. Mary Raphaely / Aug 21 2010 1:41 am

    love the colors thanks

Leave a Reply

