Skip to content
October 19, 2010 / Sarah Moore

marmoleum!

marmoleum

image from forbo website

I have samples of this eco-friendly flooring material speckled all over my kitchen at the moment and my head is spinning. Made of all-natural materials including linseed oil and wood flour, it has a vintage look which is what I like best about it, recalling the flecked linoleum you find in old houses. I love it! The colors are amazing too…but who can decide. This potentially-getting-my hands-on-an-old-house in Santa Cruz is making me a bit dizzy with ideas and excitement. I’m realizing that being an interior designer, constantly exposed to amazing new materials out there and all those choices (!), I’ve been a bit repressed as a renter all this time. Perhaps it’s like working at an ice cream shop and never being able to taste the flavors until one day you have the freedom to devour them all and have a field day, but feel like barfing afterward. The salesperson at Floorcraft in San Francisco confirmed my enthusiasm yesterday by remarking, “Wow, you are very excited by Marmoleum.” I walked away feeling a bit woosey. All those color and patterns churning through my head…

p.s. I just noticed that the floor in the Filoli kitchen (my last post) appears to be linoleum. No wonder I was so attracted to it ;-)!

click here for more info.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Amy / Oct 20 2010 6:49 am

    I also love the old-style linoleum and have always wanted the vintage black and white tiles in a kitchen. Nice to see a post from you! And can’t wait to see what you do with the new house–I know it will be adorable!

  2. michelle / Oct 21 2010 11:04 am

    Am loving you and all your posts Ms HouseDress. :-) xo

  3. Patrick / Oct 23 2010 6:21 am

    this classic b&w reinterpreted in a diagonal is sooooo very chic, like you:)

  4. terra / Nov 12 2010 8:00 am

    Hey this is my idea. I have been talking about this stuff for years!! I love it so!! I going to put in my new house for sure.

Leave a comment